Any scammers that were hoping to pull the ol’ bait & switch routine in the Apple app store by switching the screenshots for their apps after it has been approved may have a rough time doing so thanks to Apple’s new policy change.
Last Wednesday, Apple announced to Apple Developers that “app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once your app has been approved.” The only way developers can upload new screenshots is to submit a binary for an update for an existing app, or a brand new app.
The idea behind this change is to stop the widely-used scam tactic where ill-willed developers upload legitimate screenshots to get their app approved and then swap them out with different screenshots (sometimes from another popular app) to trick users into downloading the app.
Hopefully this will prevent users from paying for apps that aren’t quite what they seem.
[via Security Watch]
Don’t miss out on the latest tech news and computer security alerts! Follow us on Twitter at @hyphenet, “Like” us on Facebook or add us to your circle on Google+