Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Pharmacy Spam Now Imitating Habbo Notification Emails

HabboWhat’s this? More pharmacy spam disguised as a social network notification email?

What a surprise…

Since Friday, we’ve received two emails from “Habbo Hotel” (auto-contact@habbo.com) claiming that Habbo users “Carl” and “Alun” have sent us messages on the social networking site, which can be viewed as soon the huge, bright green “Read a message” button is clicked.

I’ll pass on the invitation, though, since a quick hover of the mouse reveals the spam’s links direct to a third-party website and not habbo.com.

Here’s one of the emails:

Habbo Spam
Subject: Habbo user “Alun” has sent you a message
From: Habbo Hotel (auto-correct@habbo.com)
Hello, [EMAIL]

Habbo user "Alun" has sent you a message.

Please click on the link below to open the Message View page:

Read a message

Keep me updated about the latest Habbo happenings, news and gossip. This message was sent to [EMAIL], if you do not want to receive emails from us anymore, click here.

FYI: The Habbo user’s name varies from email to email, so if you received one of these spam messages then it’s likely yours sports a different username. Still, the purpose of Habbo spam remains the same: trick as many people possible into visiting pharmaceutical websites.

If you are a Habbo user (or even if you’re not) and you receive an email purporting to be from the social networking site, make sure you mouseover email links to verify the destination URL before clicking on them.

If it doesn’t point to habbo.com, then you’re probably better off deleting the email.

In fact, you may want to make it common practice to check all email links before clicking them as spammers have also been sending out fake Foursquare, Myspace, YouTube, Tagged & LinkedIn emails as well.

Have you received any Habbo spam?

No comments:

Post a Comment