Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Don't Forget to Clear Your Google Web History Before March 1st

Google has it's eyes on you..There are only seven days left in February.

Who cares, you ask?

Need I remind you that Google’s new privacy policy – which will allow them to share user data across nearly all of their services – will take effect on March 1st, 2012? So, pretty much anyone that uses one of Google’s handy-dandy services should care. And let’s face it - that’s a whole lot of users.

As the Electronic Frontier Foundation pointed out, one of the things that users may want to do before March 1st is erase their Google Web History.

Currently your Google Web History is kept out of reach of Google’s other products and while you may not realize it, your search data can reveal an awful lot about you, such as your location, interests, health concerns, religion, and a whole lot more.

With that being said, it’s probably a good idea to wipe your Google Web History data before the new privacy policy kicks in and Google gets a very clear understanding of every aspect of your life.

How to Erase Your Google Web History

  1. Sign into your Google account.

  2. Visit
    Click the arrow on the top right corner of the page and select ‘Privacy’.
    Scroll down until you see ‘Sign into Dashboard’.
    Scroll until you see ‘Web History’ and click ‘Remove items or clear Web History’

  3. Click ‘Remove all Web History’

  4. Select ‘OK’.

Keep in mind that this will “pause” your web history tracking, so if you want to start fresh then remember to enable it after clearing it out. To enable Web History again, just click the blue ‘Resume’ button at the top of the Web History page.

Don’t miss out on the latest tech news and computer security alerts! Follow us on Twitter at @hyphenet,  “Like” us on Facebook or add us to your circle on Google+.

No comments:

Post a Comment